FIFA Club World Cup, FIFA World Cup

  • CAF Champions League quarter-finals get under way on Friday
  • Last eight features some of Africa’s biggest names
  • All-Tunisian encounter and two ‘derbies’ on the bill

With the exception of 2016 champions Mamelodi Sundowns, all the sides who have won the CAF Champions League since 2005 have made it through to this year’s quarter-finals: Al Ahly, Wydad Athletic Club, TP Mazembe, Esperance de Tunis, Etoile Sportive du Sahel, and ES Setif. Joining those six continental heavyweights in this year’s last eight are Guinea’s Horoya AC and Angolan outfit Primeiro de Agosto.

Tunisia is the only nation with two sides still in contention, namely Esperance and Etoile, who were pitched together at the draw held on 3 September, which also threw up a Maghreb derby between Algeria’s Etoile and Wydad of Morocco. The meeting between Primeiro de Agosto and TP Mazembe also involves teams from two neighbouring countries. In the other tie in the round, meanwhile, the mighty Al Ahly of Egypt take on Horoya, who qualified from the group phase at the expense of the Sundowns.

The winners of the competition will book a place at the FIFA Club World Cup between 12 and 22 December in the United Arab Emirates, the draw for which took place a few days ago.

Quarter-final fixtures

Horoya AC-Al Ahly (14 Sep)
ES Setif-Wydad Athletic Club (14 Sep)
Primeiro de Agosto-TP Mazembe (15 Sep)
Esperance de Tunis-Etoile Sportive du Sahel (15 Sep)

Source link

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *