FIFA Club World Cup, FIFA World Cup

Up until 2009, Barcelona’s bulging trophy cabinet had been, curiously, devoid of a world title. Memories of Japan 2006, where Barça fell to Brazil’s Internacional in the final, were also still fresh in the mind of the Catalan giants.

This time, the scene was different – with UAE acting as the host nation after four editions in Japan – and under the stewardship of Pep Guardiola, Barça avenged that 2006 loss by claiming their first ever world title. But only just.

After Pedro bagged an 89th-minute equaliser in the final against Argentina’s Estudiantes, Lionel Messi’s extra-time winner ensured Barça finally got their hands on the FIFA Club World Cup.

The FIFA Club World Cup Qatar 2019 gets under way on 11 December. Get your tickets here.

Source link

Products You May Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.